“You have a story to tell”

NCTE 2013 was an incredible experience!  Today as I open the packages of books that I had to have shipped back home I am reliving the experience.  If only I could have stayed longer… next year I will!

So Friday morning I had the privilege of attending a very special breakfast in honor of Donald Graves’ memory.  The more I learn about this remarkable man the more inspired I become.  I was first introduced to him through Lucy Calkins when I attended a workshop she gave.  I can’t remember the year and didn’t know it at the time, but it was the beginning of a shift in my thinking as a writing teacher.  At the breakfast I was surrounded by so many amazing Heinemann teacher-authors whose books line my shelves, sit next to my bed, and are stacked on my tables.  I didn’t get to meet them directly but did get to hear their tribute to Mr. Graves.  I was in awe.  And I hope someday to continue Donald Graves’ remarkable legacy through continuing his work.  I love listening and reading the stories my students have to tell.

Many thanks to the folks at Heinemann for inviting me and giving me the inspiration to share my story…

Leave a Reply

